Up Close and Personal with Chris VanBuskirk

With the 2013 Southern Ohio Pastors Conference just around the corner, we wanted to spend some time letting you get to know the men who will be speaking at this year’s conference by asking them to answer a few questions for us. Here’s the fifth of a series of posts we will be running over the next two weeks leading up to the conference on September 21.

chris_vanb_imageChris VanBuskirk – Centerpoint Church – Chillicothe, Ohio

What is your ministry background and education?

My dad was a pastor at the same church in Kingston, OH for nearly 30 years. This gave me a chance to participate in various ministry and leadership roles, most predominately with youth. I loved ministry but didn’t feel the call to plant a church until my junior year at Greenville College in Greenville, IL. I graduated from Greenville College in 2008 and my wife and I made the move from Greenville back to Chillicothe, OH. We spent a year building a team and officially launched Centerpoint in September of 2009.

What are some ways that your background in ministry has helped prepare you for your current ministry context?

I grew up in a church culture where I was empowered to DREAM and to DO. This allowed me to take risks at a young age others might not have been encouraged to take. This idea to DREAM and to DO continued for me in college and ultimately helped give me the courage to step out with my wife, change our plans and plant Centerpoint.

What is God doing in your church and/or community right now that is really exciting?

In four years, we have grown from a church of 30 to over 300. We’ve outgrown the theatre we were meeting in and moved to Unioto High school on September 8th. This move will allow us to accommodate double what we could at the theater and we’re excited for the opportunity to connect more people to the life changing, liberating love of Jesus. We’ve made a dent but God called us to make a crater.

What do you hope to see accomplished by the SOPC?

The SOPC is building bridges within the church community by reminding people there’s more that unites us than divides us. We are all stronger when we learn from one another. We might not see eye to eye on everything but we see eye to eye on the main thing and that’s what really counts. I see tremendous growth for SOPC as they continue to connect pastors and leaders to better equip the church community of Southern Ohio.

Blog Bio from chrisvanb.com

One of the best things about being a follower of Jesus is that everyday is adventure and my life has been no exception! My wife and I were headed in a totally different direction when we felt God calling us back to our roots to plant a relevant, life-giving church (Centerpoint) in Chillicothe, OH. With ARC’s help this vision has become a reality and Centerpoint has been a reminder of why you should never say never!

When I’m not doing church stuff I enjoy book reading, movie watching, music listening coffee drinking. I enjoy all things Apple and think the iPhone is probably owned and inspired by God…seriously. I could talk about culture and faith for hours and I’m always up for a good theological discussion. My idea of a perfect day would be watching the Buckeyes at the Horseshoe or catching a Reds game at Great American Ballpark with my family.

Comments
One Response to “Up Close and Personal with Chris VanBuskirk”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Chris VanBuskirk is the lead pastor at Centerpoint Church in Chillicothe, Ohio, and will be leading the Individual Discipleship breakout session, as well as sitting on the Variations in Small Group Discipleship panel discussion. Chris is a graduate of Greenville College. […]



Leave a Reply

